Hong Kong is nestled on the eastern region of the Pearl River Delta area, engulfed by the People's Republic of China towards the southeastern coastal side, where the South China Sea faces the province from the southern side, and the Guangdong area from the northern side.

Hong Kong is constituted with three major provinces namely Hong Kong Island, Kowloon, and the New Territories. From the north end the province of the Kowloon Peninsula is well connected to the New Territories, which thereby is linked to the Mainland China through the streams of Sham Chun River (Shenzhen River). The place is comprised of 262 islands near the South China Sea where Ap Lei Chau province is compactly inhabited. Lantau is the largest province where the local natives reside while the region of Hong Kong Island falls in the second position as far as concentration of population is concerned.


Hong Kong’s population was approximately 7.15 million in 2012. People of Chinese descent comprise the vast majority of the population, a major part of Hong Kong's Cantonese-speaking majority originated from the neighbouring Guangdong province.with foreign nationals comprising 8%.

  • Population density: 6,620 people per square kilometre
  • Crude birth rate: 12.8 per 1,000
  • Percentage of population Chinese descent: 92%
  • Other significant national groups:
    • Indonesia (164,850 total)
    • The Philippines (160,850 total)
    • USA (28,290 total)


Hong Kong's climate is sub-tropical, with temperatures dropping below 10 degrees Celsius in winter and exceeding 31 degrees Celsius in summer. It is warm, sunny and dry in autumn, cool and dry in winter, and hot, humid and rainy from spring to summer.

Public Holidays

Hong Kong provides two types of public holidays: statutory and general holidays. Statutory holidays are mandated under the Employment Ordinance and must be provided to all employees. General holidays include every Sunday, all statutory holidays and an additional 5 holidays.